WA needs to create long-term economic activity and jobs by removing stamp duty

According to a draft report of the independent New South Wales review of Federal Financial Relations, it’s time for state and Commonwealth governments to scale back on inefficient taxes including stamp duty, and REIWA is calling on Western Australian political leaders to do the same. 

REIWA President Damian Collins said the Institute supports the draft report and calls for discussions to commence in WA to remove inefficient taxes such as stamp duty.  

“Described in the report as an ‘unfair and damaging tax’, stamp duty is the wrong tax for rebuilding the State Governments’ capability to deliver for its citizens – clearly this also applies to WA.” Mr Collins said.  

In addition, the report notes that a broad-based land tax is the best instrument to ensure efficiency of state taxation.  

“According to Deloitte, removal of stamp duty could lead to a 60 per cent uplift in transactions, generating an additional $1 billion to the WA economy, which is why a tax switch would establish the right settings for long-term growth,” Mr Collins said.  

“By introducing a broad-based tax system, payments will be made over a longer period, allowing those who need to move, the ability to do so. Having an opt-in model only on new transactions will mean that those who have paid stamp duty are not unduly hit by the replacement tax.” 

As a strong advocate for the removal of stamp duty in favour of a land-based tax system, REIWA strongly urges the WA Government and Opposition to go to the next election with economic policies, such as removing stamp duty, that will set the state up for the stronger long-term growth. 

Source From: REIWA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

OUR TEAM

Gary Ferrier

Senior Sales Rep

0411 558 373 gary@idealrealtywa.com.au
Sarah Potter

Senior Property Manager

0426 766 070 sarah@idealrealtywa.com.au
Freddy Chua

Sales Consultant / Finance Broker

0431 164 111 Freddy@idealrealtywa.com.au

OUR TEAM

Andy Chia

Sales Executive

0402 148 620 andy@idealrealtywa.com.au
Eric Chi

Sales & Finance Consultant

0411 877 770 eric@idealrealtywa.com.au
Kevin Ong

Sales Executive

0404 388 886 kevin@idealrealtywa.com.au
Jina Zou

Marketing Director / Sales Rep

0488 700 572 jina@idealrealtywa.com.au

OUR PARTNERS